

Speaker: Richard Pfefferkorn Director of Landmark Association of Bowling Green, Ky.

Members, guests, non-members, prospective members, and everyone else is invited. Preservation Alliance can be a strong voice in our community and needs you at each meeting to help us grow. Come and join us and learn how preserving the past makes our future richer. Put November 10th on your calendar.

RESTORATION IN PROGRESS

Central Bank & Trust Co.
Bob and Alton Puckett
Solomon Wile
Mount St. Joseph

MEMBERSHIPS

Preservation Alliance now has 70 members and hopes to have more. Please join by filling in the form below and sending it with a check for \$5.00 made payable to Preservation Alliance of Owensboro-Daviess County, 224 Allen Street. Members who joined in the fall of 1982 need to renew their memberships.

Name		
Address		

NATIONAL REGISTER NOMINATIONS

Preservation Alliance will be working with the Heritage Council in 1984 to nominate eligible historic property within the city limits to the National Register. Staff member Bob Polsgrove suggested several districts and around 20 individual structures that should be nominated. He recommended that we apply to the Heritage Council for a grant to hire a preservationist to do our nomination. board of directors will recommend to the membership Thursday night that \$500 be budgeted for this project.

Glenda Thacker of Downtown Owensboro, Inc. and Gary Adams of the Planning Office will assist with the research.

Eligible property outside the city limits will be nominated in the near future.

National Register status provides recognition and protection to all historic property plus tax advantages to commercial property.

JAIL THREATENED

The Daviess County Jail will lose two historic additions if the county is successful in its attempt to receive state funds for a renovation project and proceeds with current plans. P.A. and State Historic Preservation Officer, Mary Oppel, have requested that their present architectural plans be reconsidered.

OFFICERS

President: Richard Edwards
Vice-President: Aloma Dew
2nd. Vice-President: Ann Padgett
Secretary: Glenda Thacker
Treasurer: Sheila Heflin
Program Director:Terry Blake
Directors: Dan King,
Gerald Poynter,
Mary Gray Ralph, and
Helen Coomes.
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1